Simplify: My Beauty Routine

Simplicity. I mentioned wanting to simplify things in my life in an earlier post, & I’m pretty excited about the overhaul I’m planning for my beauty routine. Coconut oil is being pushed as the new do it all- hair, skin, & health benefits, no harmful preservatives or chemicals, less waste and plastic packaging- sounds fab, right? Well, I’ve finally decided to put it to the test. I’ve got two jars of coconut oil right now, one for cooking and one for beauty. I get my oil from Trader Joe’s or Sprout’s.  

Here are a few of the ways I’ll be incorporating coconut oil into my beauty routine:

Hair conditioner- pre-shampoo mask, in place of my usual conditioner, and as a styling tool.

Face- as a face wash (rub on, rinse off), mixed with baking soda as a scrub, makeup remover, lip balm, moisturizer, mark fader.

Body- in place of lotion, shave balm, deodorant, mixed with brown sugar as a scrub.

For now, other than the scrubs, I’m going to resist mixing it with other ingredients or essential oils in order to keep it simple. My skin tends to be pretty sensitive to scents and chemicals; it will be really nice not to have to worry about that. It will also be nice to look at a less cluttered medicine cabinet!

I’ll keep you updated on my experience. What will you do to simplify your beauty routine this week? xoxo

Leave a comment

coco loves carlos

there are far, far better things ahead than any we leave behind {cs lewis}

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.